Our political risk team works with clients to manage their cross border portfolios and overseas investments with tailored, specialist policies. Our key clients include financial institutions, corporates, exporters, and traders. Markel has the capability to underwrite and issue policies providing access to licences across the globe in respect of both trade and non-trade related transactions.

Political risk coverage options

We can offer cover on Company or Lloyd's paper

  • Contract frustration: $50m per risk and policy tenors up to 120 months
  • Political risk: $30m per risk and policy tenors up to 120 months
  • Single and structured credit risk: average line size of around $10m per risk and policy tenors up to 84 months

We write business on a primary and excess basis

We write business on a worldwide basis (excluding sanctioned territories)

We can offer cover which does not contain a nuclear exclusion

Key coverages include:

  • Insolvency or default by either a public or privately owned entity
  • Non-trade capabilities
  • Pre-export finance
  • Pre-shipment political risk coverage
  • Unfair and fair calling of on-demand bonds
  • Currency inconvertibility and exchange transfer
  • Licence cancellation
  • Import / export embargo
  • ECA and multilateral coverage, where extended tenors are available
  • Confiscation, nationalisation, expropriation, and deprivation
  • Comprehensive contractors plant and equipment
  • Failure to honour an arbitration award
  • Aircraft and vessel repossession
  • Mortgage rights insurance
  • Aircraft finance
  • Real estate finance
Access our detailed risk appetite information for this product and receive updates as they happen.

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Philip Amlot

Senior Underwriter & Head of Portfolio, Global Trade Credit
Phil.Amlot@markel.com

Nicola Marriage

Senior Underwriter & Head of Political Risk
Nicola.Marriage@markel.com

Lida Heaven

Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
Lida.Heaven@markel.com

Kerry Magnus

Underwriter – Political Risk
Kerry.Magnus@markel.com

Nour El-Husseini

Underwriting Assistant – Trade Credit & Political Risk
Nour.El-Husseini@markel.com
United Arab Emirates

Leroy Almeida

Senior Executive Officer – Head of Middle East
Leroy.Almeida@markel.com

Michael Gardner

Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
Michael.Gardner@markel.com

Maria Pereira

Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
Maria.Pereira@markel.com

Crystal Dsouza

Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
Crystal.Dsouza@markel.com
Singapore

Dillon Matthews

Senior Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
Dillon.Matthews@markel.com

Nicholas Davies

Senior Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
Nicholas.Davies@markel.com

Zong Wen Lee

Assistant Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
ZongWen.Lee@markel.com
United States

Arjan Van de Wall

Head of Americans, Trade Credit and PRI
Arjan.vandewall@markel.com

Howard Lee

Senior Underwriter – Trade Credit & Political Risk
Howard.Lee@markel.com

Christen Mizell

Underwriter & Head of Midwest – Trade Credit & Political Risk, USA
Christen.Mizell@markel.com

Jennifer Chang

Underwriter & Senior Risk Analyst – Trade Credit & Political Risk
Jennifer.Chang@markel.com
    

Carl Titterton

Divisional Managing Director
Trade Credit, Political Risk and Surety
Carl.Titterton@markel.com

“I work with a great team who are always keen and committed to succeeding, both as a team and for Markel. I’m proud that my team have a strong blend of experience allied with a creative, solution-focused attitude.”