Our terrorism team provides protection on a worldwide basis (excluding sanctioned territories) against physical damage, business interruption and contingency losses directly caused by acts of war, terrorism and political violence. This includes cover for strikes, riots, civil commotion, insurrection, coup d’état, war, civil war and counter insurgency. We also provide cover against losses sustained in the aftermath of an active assailant or hostage event. The underwriting team is supported by our experienced, in-house claims team.

Marine terrorism coverage options

Terrorism / strikes, riots, civil commotion, malicious damage / war and political violence

We can offer cover on Company or Lloyd's paper, maximum line size available:

  • Terrorism / SRCCMD: $75m
  • War and Political Violence: $20m

Key coverages include:

  • Physical damage to first party property
  • Business interruption following physical damage to first party property
  • Bodily injury to third parties
  • Physical damage to third party property
  • Physical damage to first party property caused by cyber terrorism
  • Operators’ extra expense
  • Event cancellation
  • Long periods for construction projects
  • Contingency

Active assailant

We can offer cover on Company or Lloyd's paper, maximum line size available:

  • Active Assailant: $30m
  • Loss of Attraction: $10m
  • Threat: $30m

Active assailant key coverages include:

  • Medical expenses and counselling costs
  • Crisis management service – pre / post loss advice and support
  • Business interruption following a property damage and / or bodily injury
  • Physical damage to first party property
  • Extra expenses
    • Employee retraining
    • Recruitment costs

Loss of attraction key coverages include:

  • Non-damage business interruption cover
    • No requirement for first party property damage trigger
    • Responds to losses suffered in the aftermath of a terrorist or active assailant incident within 3,000 feet

Threat key coverages include:

  • Business interruption as a result of the threat of terrorism
    • No property damage trigger required
    • Threat reported within 1,500 feet
Access our detailed risk appetite information for this product and receive updates as they happen.

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Edward Winter

Senior Underwriter & Head of Terrorism
Edward.Winter@markel.com

Chloe Gordge

Senior Underwriter – Terrorism
Chloe.Gordge@markel.com

William Newman

Senior Underwriter – Terrorism
William.Newman@markel.com

Tom Simpson

Underwriter – Terrorism
Tom.Simpson@markel.com

Sophie Bailey

Underwriter – Terrorism
Sophie.Bailey@markel.com

Brook Styles

Underwriter – Cargo, Specie, Terrorism
Brook.Styles@markel.com

Sarah Shiner

Underwriting Assistant – Terrorism
Sarah.Shiner@Markel.com

Boaz Appiah

Underwriting Assistant
Boaz.Appiah@markel.com
Singapore

Colin Fordham

Senior Underwriter & Director
Colin.Fordham@markel.com

Hui Zhi Pek

Underwriter, War and Terrorism
HuiZhi.Pek@markel.com
China

Qianhai Hu

Underwriting Director – China
Qianhai.Hu@markel.com

Helena Zhang

Business Development Director
Helena.Zhang@markel.com
India

Deepika Mathur

Managing Director – India
Deepika.Mathur@markel.com

Anirudh Singh

Chief Underwriting Officer – India
Anirudh.Singh@Markel.com
United Arab Emirates

Rahul Shah

Senior Underwriter – Terrorism
Rahul.Shah@markel.com
    

Chris Fenn

Divisional Managing Director, Marine
Chris.Fenn@markel.com

"The culture and people at Markel make it a great place to work. The most rewarding part of my role is seeing us deliver innovative insurance solutions to customers and seeing our younger members of staff progressing their careers so that they are the ones delivering those solutions."