Our specie team offers a range of fine art, specie, jewellers' block, and cash in transit products on a worldwide basis, with a particular focus on the U.S. and Asia (excluding sanctioned territories). Markel's longstanding team can tailor wordings to suit client requirements from those operating at individual locations through to those operating on a global basis.

Specie coverage options

Markel can offer line sizes up to $120m on Company paper or $80m on Lloyd's paper, and we write business on a primary and excess basis. Policy coverage is generally on an all risks of physical loss or damage.

Key coverages include:

  • Fine art (private collections, museums, exhibitions, galleries, and dealers)
  • Bullion and precious metals
  • Diamonds, precious, and semi-precious stones
  • Cash and securities
  • Mining risks (diamonds and raw minerals prior to refining)
  • Jewellers’ block
  • Cash in transit
Access our detailed risk appetite information for this product and receive updates as they happen.

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Robert Ashby

Senior Underwriter & Head of Specie
Robert.Ashby@markel.com

Max Elliot

Underwriter – Specie
Max.Elliot@markel.com

Brook Styles

Underwriter – Cargo, Specie, Terrorism
Brook.Styles@markel.com

Dominic Dahmen

Underwriting Assistant – Specie
Dominic.Dahmen@markel.com
United States

Jim Taylor

Director, U.S. Business Development – Marine
Jim.Taylor@markel.com

Jamie Gregory

Manager – US Fine Art and Specie Business Development
Jamie.Gregory@markel.com

Payce Louis

Director of Underwriting and Production Fine Arts
Payce.Louis@markel.com

David Thompson

Underwriter – Specie
David.Thompson@markel.com

Cody Wynn

Underwriting Support Specialist
Cody.Wynn@markel.com

Nonie Tompkins

Underwriting Support Specialist
Nonie.Tompkins@markel.com

Rachel Gillam

Underwriting Technician
Rachel.Gillam@markel.com

Grace Culley

Underwriting Support Specialist
Grace.Culley@markel.com
Singapore

Colin Fordham

Senior Underwriter & Director
Colin.Fordham@markel.com
China

Qianhai Hu

Underwriting Director – China
Qianhai.Hu@markel.com
India

Anirudh Singh

Chief Underwriting Officer – India
Anirudh.Singh@markel.com

Deepika Mathur

Managing Director – India
Deepika.Mathur@markel.com
    

Chris Fenn

Divisional Managing Director, Marine
Chris.Fenn@markel.com

“The culture and people at Markel make it a great place to work. The most rewarding part of my role is seeing us deliver innovative insurance solutions to customers and seeing our younger members of staff progressing their careers so that they are the ones delivering those solutions.”