Our hull and war team offers a full range of products on a worldwide basis (excluding sanctioned territories) with a particular focus on North America, Northern Europe, the Middle East, and Asia. Products can be tailored to meet requirements of clients, from smaller local / domestic companies to global operations. Markel is a recognised leader of hull and war business with a long and successful history in the class. The underwriting team is supported by our experienced, in-house claims team.

Marine hull and war coverage options

We can offer cover on Company or Lloyd's paper, percentage line varies by subclass:

  • Hull: $25m
  • Builders risks and MII: $50m
  • Marine war: $100m

We write business on a primary and excess basis

Key coverages include:

  • All risks
  • Limited conditions and navigation
  • Port risks
  • Loss of hire
  • Voyage and tow
  • Increased value, freight interest, and other total loss interests
  • Builders risks
  • Mortgagees interest
  • Marine war
  • Bluewater tonnage
  • Brownwater / greenwater tonnage
  • Specialist tonnage
Access our detailed risk appetite information for this product and receive updates as they happen.

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Daniel McCarthy

Senior Underwriter & Head of Hull & War
Daniel.McCarthy@markel.com

Katie Costello

Senior Underwriter – Hull & War
Katie.Costello@markel.com

Paul Western

Senior Underwriter – Hull & War
Paul.Western@markel.com

Joshua Wakely

Assistant Underwriter – Hull & War
Joshua.Wakely@markel.com

Harvey Booth

Underwriting Assistant – Hull & War
Harvey.Booth@markel.com

Nicholas Fitzgerald

Underwriting Assistant – Hull & War
Nicholas.Fitzgerald@markel.com

Rebecca Kendall

Underwriting Assistant – Hull & War
Rebecca.Kendall@markel.com
United States

Jim Taylor

Director, U.S. Business Development
Jim.Taylor@markel.com
Singapore

Colin Fordham

Senior Underwriter & Director – Marine, Asia
Colin.Fordham@markel.com

Wanshi Lin

Underwriter – Marine
Wanshi.Lin@markel.com
China

Qianhai Hu

Underwriting Director – China
Qianhai.Hu@markel.com

Wanshi Lin

Underwriter – Marine
Wanshi.Lin@markel.com
India

Anirudh Singh

Chief Underwriting Officer – India
Anirudh.Singh@markel.com

Deepika Mathur

Managing Director – India
Deepika.Mathur@markel.com