Our midstream energy team offers a range of cover including physical loss or damage, machinery breakdown, business interruption, loss of production income / tariff, and incidental course of construction. We cover the full spectrum of assets from gathering transmission systems, gas plants, and oil separation through to large scale LNG import and export facilities. Markel is recognised as a leader in the midstream market and we work with our experienced, in-house engineering capability to offer industry leading underwriting expertise to our clients. We write business globally including in the U.S., Canada, Australia, and Europe.

Midstream energy coverage options

We can offer line sizes up to $200m on Company paper or $100m on Lloyd's paper

We consider ourselves predominantly quota share (re)insurers

  • We can write excess of loss layers
  • We do not write a book of primary placements, but will write primary layers where we are able to write the excess layers as well
  • We can write pure excess layers where the risk is within appetite and we are unable to take a line on the primary layer
  • We do not write Fac RI primaries for other insurers

Key coverages include:

  • Onshore gas processing, storage, and distribution
  • Terminals, tanks, and associated product in storage
  • LNG import and export infrastructure
  • Pipeline transmission systems
  • Loss of tariff / business interruption
Access our detailed risk appetite information for this product and receive updates as they happen.

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Stuart Smith

Senior Underwriter – Head of Midstream
Stuart.Smith@markel.com

Ben House

Senior Underwriter – Head of Upstream
Ben.House@markel.com

Greg Walters

Senior Underwriter – Head of Downstream
Greg.Walters@markel.com

Clifford Blayney

Underwriter – Energy
Clifford.Blayney@markel.com

Tim Foister

Underwriter – Energy
Tim.Foister@markel.com

Emma Cook

Underwriting Assistant – Energy
Emma.Cook@markel.com

Bobby Moore

Underwriting Assistant – Energy
Bobby.Moore@markel.com
India

Anirudh Singh

Chief Underwriting Officer – India
Anirudh.Singh@markel.com

Deepika Mathur

Managing Director – India
Deepika.Mathur@markel.com
Singapore

Mark Nunn

Underwriter – Energy
Mark.Nunn@markel.com

Aminah Sulaiman

Underwriter – Energy
Aminah.Sulaiman@markel.com

Rohan Davies

Divisional Managing Director
Rohan.Davies@markel.com

"Technology leaps, supply change, demand growth and efficiency gains – who knows what the energy landscape will look like in the coming years, but having a great team who are dedicated to understanding the needs of all our clients, whether global leaders or specialised niche players, means that as these seismic shifts take place, we are who the clients come to for innovative thinking and a safe place to assume their risk."