Our downstream energy team offers a range of products to cover oil refineries, petrochemical plants, fertilizer plants, and heavier gas-liquids fractionation operations. Cover also includes all associated assets involved in the transmission, distribution, and storage of refined products. Our downstream offering compliments our upstream and midstream capabilities, providing clients with a fully integrated product for the whole energy value chain. Please see midstream for LNG cover.

Downstream energy coverage options

We can offer line sizes up to $25m on Company or Lloyd's paper

We consider ourselves predominantly quota share (re)insurers

  • We can write excess of loss layers
  • We do not write a book of primary placements, but will write primary layers where we are able to write the excess layers as well
  • We can write pure excess layers where the risk is within appetite and we are unable to take a line on the primary layer
  • We do not write Fac RI primaries for other insurers

Key coverages include:

  • Refineries
  • Petrochemical
  • Franctionation
  • Fertilizer plants
Access our detailed risk appetite information for this product and receive updates as they happen.

Contact our experts

United Kingdom

Greg Walters

Senior Underwriter – Head of Downstream
Greg.Walters@markel.com

Harry Booth

Underwriter – Energy
Harry.Booth@markel.com

Emma Cook

Underwriting Assistant – Energy
Emma.Cook@markel.com

Bobby Moore

Underwriting Assistant – Energy
Bobby.Moore@markel.com
Singapore

Mark Nunn

Underwriter – Energy
Mark.Nunn@markel.com

Aminah Sulaiman

Underwriter – Energy
Aminah.Sulaiman@markel.com
    

Rohan Davies

Divisional Managing Director, Energy
Rohan.Davies@markel.com

"Technology leaps, supply change, demand growth and efficiency gains – who knows what the energy landscape will look like in the coming years, but having a great team who are dedicated to understanding the needs of all our clients, whether global leaders or specialised niche players, means that as these seismic shifts take place, we are who the clients come to for innovative thinking and a safe place to assume their risk."